LEESON Electric Corporation  

EISA Legislation, Energy Independence & Securities Act rules, Small motor rulesDOE Small Motor Efficiency Rule & EISA Expansion Rule


E.I.S.A. Explained

In March of 2010, the DOE (Department of Energy) instituted a ruling that incorporates small motors into their Energy Efficiency Programs. The DOE, as required by law, is mandated to review the readiness of the Energy regulations based on current materials and manufacturing technologies. This SMR (Small Motor Efficiency Rule) includes motors that are described in the information below. This rule goes into effect on March 9th, 2015. Motors requiring outside agency approval such as UL or CSA have a 2-year extension and need to comply by March 9, 2017.


In addition, in May of 2014 the DOE released communications with required expansions of 3 phase single-speed, low voltage, integral HP motors, 1-500 HP to meet NEMA Premium efficiency levels, excluding some exceptions. This ruling expands current motor regulation for motors that were not previously covered in the EISA 2010 regulations. These families of motors are also listed in the information below. This rule goes into effect on June 1, 2016.


This new rule is predicted to save approximately 7 quads of energy and result in approximately $41.4 billion in energy bill savings for products shipped from 2016-2045. This rule is also predicted to reduce 395 million metric tons of carbon dioxide emissions.

For the small motor rulemaking, the motors that are in scope include:

  • 2-digit frame numbers - 42, 48 and 56 frame motors and thier IEC equivalent frame size motors
  • The speed or poles of the motors would include 2, 4 and 6 pole design from 1/4 to 3HP
  • Open construction motors that are either 3 phase (polyphase), cap start-induction run, or start/cap run designs.
  • Continuous duty rated and that also meet NEMA service factor.

Exemptions to the small motor rule include:

  • Definite or special purpose OPEN construction design motors
  • Motor speeds that are outside of the 2, 4 and 6-pole speeds
  • Enclosed motors
  • Motor types that are not classified as being 3-phase, cap start-induction run or cap start/cap run
  • Intermittent duty motors as well as designs outside the HP and frame size listing as described above
  • Motors that are already covered by the other efficiency legislation are also not covered by this rule

Specific E.I.S.A. Rules

The EISA (Energy Independence and Security Act) expansion and compliance rule, or sometimes referred to as the EISA Expansion Rule, expands the following list of motor designs to meet NEMA Premium efficiency : 1-500 HP, NEMA Design A, B &C (1-200 HP only today for Design A & B motors); IEC Design N, H, 8 Pole designs, enclosed 56 Frame IHP (1 HP and larger) that are either of General Purpose, Special or Definite Purpose design electric motors.

The efficiency levels must meet NEMA Premium levels as listed in Table 12-12 (IE3-60Hz).


Motors that are now affected by this rule include:

  • NEMA Design A & B motors from 201 to 500HP
  • NEMA Design C motors from 1 to 500 HP
  • All voltages ≤ 600 volts
  • Electric motors with non-standard endshields, flanges or shafts
  • Motors with moisture resistant windings, like encapsulated or sealed windings
  • Motors that use any non-standard mounting like a base or cradle
  • Motors that do not have a base or cradle - footless designs
  • Partial designed electric motors (missing 1-2 endshileds, but not rotor or stator sets)
  • Vertical hollow shaft motors
  • TENV designed motors
  • JM & JP Pump motors
  • Electric motors having thrust or roller bearings
  • Integral brake motors
  • Motors with separately cooled blowers on them
  • Enclosed 56 frame 1HP and larger - 56 open motors covered by the SMR
  • Gearmotors if the motor can be removed from the reducer and work as independent motor

Exempt motors from the 2010 expansion rule include:

  • Fire pump motors
  • Liquid cooled motors
  • Submersible motors
  • Air over design motors
  • Component sets (stator, rotor sets)
  • Small electric motors below 56 frame
  • Design D motors
  • Advanced motor technology motors which include PMAC, ECM, brushless DC, etc.
  • Inverter duty only motors

LEESON along with our parent company Regal is in full support of legislative actions intended to reduce energy costs for our customers, as well as reducing carbon emissions to help our global sustainability.

NOTE: NEMA Tables require registration with NEMA.


Small motor minimum efficiency levels chart


Energy Efficiency Facts
Efficient LEESON Products
Checking Motors for EISA Compliance
Application Case Studies
Payback Calculator
EISA Legislation Facts brochure